Five Four and a Quarter

Questions, confessions, experiences, and inspirations of a twenty-something-year-old

Oh, the things you learn in college February 25, 2011

The other day I got together for lunch with a friend I haven’t seen in a while. Alli graduated from Champlain last May and we only live a few blocks apart, but as the story of my life goes, I never have enough time to see all the people I want to see. We were talking about life as I get ready to graduate and as she is trying to make ends meet with the 2 part-time jobs she has, and she started telling me that in college there should be a Crash Course 101 class on how to survive after graduation. She explained that not only is it quiet and lonely living in a 1-bedroom apartment, but it’s so much harder to pay college loans, rent, utility bills, phone bills, and car payments than she thought it would be. She also mentioned how weird it is to have a day off with no homework and no structure as to what you need to accomplish that day. “Why don’t they teach you this in college?” she asked me. I just smiled as I thought about the things that college does and does not teach you and Grace Boyle‘s blog post, “What I learned in College Wasn’t Found in My $200 Textbook.” And yes, Grace’s list is 100% true to me as well…besides studying abroad. (Grace is a former Champlainer and a PR inspiration. She was also my orientation leader my first weekend at Champlain, but I ducked out of most of orientation so we unfortunately didn’t get to know each other). Just to add a few additional items to Grace’s list:

  • Bouncers can either be your best friend or your worst enemy
  • There’s no need to watch or read the news. Everything I need to know can be learned on Twitter
  • Connections are everything
  • When there’s a new form of social media emerging almost daily, textbooks are useless

I feel so fortunate to have had the educational experience that I did at Champlain–where many of my class assignments consisted of designing public relations campaigns and marketing strategies for real clients, where I haven’t had a written final exam since my sophomore year, and where I am getting credit to complete a paid internship. And, because I knew better, the one textbook that was priced at more than $150 was never purchased.

 

3 Responses to “Oh, the things you learn in college”

  1. Grace Boyle Says:

    Aw, I love your additional list – the bouncers one is awesome! Stay on their good side 🙂

    You’re so sweet for the kind words about my blog, Champlain and me! Taking it from me, Champlain prepared me far more than many peers I now know in terms of real-world experience. I think we will start to see a far more digital learning experience, less textbooks and more Twitter to and social media as teaching tools.

    Good luck to you dear 🙂 Thanks again, this made me smile and OF COURSE I remember you!!

  2. […] Throughout my entire college experience, I told people that I had the craziest, busiest life out of everyone I know. A lot of people –mainly guys who were trying to get me to hang out with them– thought I was making this up as an excuse to not hang out. Seriously, I wasn’t –although at times it did serve as a legit excuse.– I would tell people, “ask my roommate or any of my friends. I have absolutely no free time for more people in my life.” […]

  3. […] able to connect with this article much more than I could a mere few months ago.  Similar to how I reflected on Grace Boyle’s college insights, this article allowed me to connect with a lot of the writer’s points –especially #9 […]


Leave a Reply

