Five Four and a Quarter

Questions, confessions, experiences, and inspirations of a twenty-something-year-old

Time flies, whether or not you’re having fun April 6, 2011

Filed under: College Experiences,Life — Arianna Bolotin @ 12:17 pm
Tags: ,

Receiving my high school diploma

It feels like I just graduated high school a year ago.  I remember the outfit I wore to my graduation, what I did the night before I graduated, and exactly how much fun I had at Project Grad. I can clearly envision how exciting it was to go shopping for my dorm room, the sadness I felt when I said goodbye to the friends I had grown up with, and the mixture of excitement and worry I was filled with the day my parents moved me into college.

 

First day at Champlain

With the crystal clear memories I have of these  life changing events, it’s hard to believe that four years have gone by. Where did all the time go?

I graduate college a month from tomorrow. There are many different emotions I feel as I think about this, the strongest feeling being, “How is this possible? How did the last four years go by so fast?”

My college years went by much too quickly for my liking. So fast, in fact, that it’s hard to believe I learned anything. However, I actually have grown so much and learned more about myself and life than I ever thought would be possible. I learned about living on my own, being independent, love, and loss. I discovered my strengths and weaknesses, things that  are worth my time and what is a waste of energy. I made new friends, lost old ones, chose who I wanted to stay in touch with, and became content with the fact that I just no longer have anything in common with some people who I’ve known since I was four years old. I learned to forgive and move on in a way that I previously never imagined would be possible. I decided that sleep is overrated and that being in a potentially dangerous situation isn’t ever going to stop me from having fun and living life to the fullest. The most general statement I can make about my college experience is that time flies when you’re having fun, but also when you’re not.

This list of what I’ve learned about life is pretty hefty, if I do say so myself. It exists as evidence that yes, I am officially an adult who is ready to enter the real world —and it also helps that I feel prepared to enhance my career–. Nevertheless, there are still so many life lessons that I have not yet experienced. I’ve never dealt with the death of a loved one. I have yet to make a drastic change in life, like moving out of Vermont or working a 9-5, 40 hours/week job. I’ve never been in an extremely bad situation of any kind. A real dilemma has yet to occur in my life.

So yes, I am happy with what I’ve learned in college. Not only did I gain a huge amount of knowledge pertaining to public relations and marketing, but I learned so many lessons about life.

If people succeeded based on survival of the fittest, I think I’d be in pretty good shape.

 

 

2 Responses to “Time flies, whether or not you’re having fun”

  1. BARBARA BOLOTIN Says:

    You’re Fabulous! BB

  2. sid bolotin Says:

    yes, i know i’m ur grandfather and may b a tad biased…but i’m so proud of u that i could burst.
    LOOK OUT WORLD!!! HERE COMES ARIANNA!!


Leave a Reply

